# **External Scrutiny Committee**

Meeting to be held on Monday, 29 November 2021

Electoral Division affected: (All Divisions);

**Corporate Priorities:** 

N/A

Constitution: Chair and Deputy Chair; Membership; Terms of Reference (Appendix A refers)

Contact for further information:

Gary Halsall, 01772 536989, Senior Democratic Services Officer (Overview and Scrutiny), gary.halsall@lancashire.gov.uk

## **Brief Summary**

This report sets out the constitution, membership, chair and deputy chair and terms of reference of the External Scrutiny Committee for the remainder of the municipal year 2021/22.

### Recommendation

The External Scrutiny Committee is asked to note:

- The appointment of County Councillors Peter Britcliffe and Rupert Swarbrick as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2021/22 municipal year;
- 2. The Membership of the Committee following the County Council's Annual Meeting on 27 May 2021; and
- 3. The Terms of Reference of the Committee.

#### Detail

The County Council at its meeting on the 27 May 2021, approved the constitution of the External Scrutiny Committee as being 12 members on the basis of 7 from the Conservative group and 5 from the Labour group. The following members were appointed by their respective groups:

### **County Councillors (12):**

A Ali N Hennessy N Aziz K Iddon L Beavers M Salter



P Britcliffe A Cheetham J R Singleton JP R Swarbrick M Tomlinson S Clarke The Committee's Terms of Reference are set out at Appendix 'A'.

Consultations
N/A
Implications:
This item has the following implications, as indicated:
Risk management
This report has no significant risk implications.
Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper Date Contact/Tel

None

Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate

N/A